Thursday, January 13, 2011

What are the regions of the body?

Regions of the Body 
The human body can be divided into axial and appendicu­lar portions. The axial portion includes the head, neck, and trunk. The trunk, or torso, contains the thorax, abdomen, and pelvis. The appendicular portion includes the limbs (arms and legs). Smaller regions of the body are named in the lists that follow.
cephalic (head)
cranial (skull) frontal (forehead)
Head, cont'd.
occipital (back of head) oral (mouth)
nasal (nose)
ophthalmic (orbital, eyes) Neck
cervical (neck)
Thorax (chest)
pectoral (chest) mammary (breast) axillary ( armpit) vertebral (backbone) costal (ribs)
Abdomen celiac (abdomen)
pelvic (lower portion of abdomen)
gluteal (buttock)
inguinal (groin)
groin (depressed region of abdomen near thigh) lumbar (lower back)
sacral (where vertebrae terminate)
perineal (region between anus and external sex organs)
Limbs (arms and legs) brachial (upper arm)
forearm (lower arm)
carpal (wrist)
cubital (elbow)
palmar (palm)
lower limb (leg)
femoral (thigh)
popliteal (back of knee) lower leg (distal to the knee) pedal ( foot)
cutaneous (skin)
The body can be divided into axial and appendicular portions, each of which can be further subdivided into specific regions. For example. brachial refers to the upper arm, and pedal refers to the foot.

Next: Cavities of the body                                                                    Conitnue>>

0 comments em “What are the regions of the body?”

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

All Content is Copyrighted with DMCA Policies.

Powered by Blogger.

educlera Copyright © 2011 -- Template created by O Pregador -- Powered by Blogger